Best Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs (2026)
For most homes we’d buy the Tapo P110M four-pack: the lowest price per plug of the Matter plugs here, Matter support so it works with Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings, and a bill estimate once you enter your electricity rate.
Our Picks at a Glance
| Plug | Max Load | Matter | Cost Estimate | Warranty | Price | Per Plug | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tapo P110M, 4-pack | 15A, 1,800W | Yes | Yes, from your rate | Not stated on listing | ~$35.99 | About $9 | Tapo P110M on Amazon |
| Tapo P115, 4-pack | 15A, 1,800W | No | Yes, from your rate | Not stated on listing | ~$27.99 | About $7 | Tapo P115 on Amazon |
| Kasa KP125M, 2-pack | 15A, 1,800W | Yes | Not stated on listing | 2 years | ~$29.99 | About $15 | Kasa KP125M on Amazon |
| Emporia Smart Plug, 4-pack | 10A continuous (15A peak, up to 1 hour a day) | No | Yes, per-device costs | 1 year | ~$34.99 | About $8.75 | Emporia Smart Plug on Amazon |
What a Plug Can and Can’t Measure
A plug reads only the device plugged into it, which makes it the cheap way to answer questions like what the old garage fridge costs to run, or how much a TV and console draw while switched off. It can’t see a hardwired load such as a furnace, water heater, central AC or well pump, and it can’t see anything on a 240V outlet. For those, the sensor has to go in the panel; our whole-home energy monitor guide covers that kind.
Check the load rating against what you’ll plug in. Three of these plugs are rated 15A and 1,800W. Emporia rates its plug for 10A continuous, with 15A allowed for up to an hour a day, so a space heater that runs all evening belongs on one of the others or straight into the wall.
Our Picks
Tapo P110M, 4-pack
Matter certification lets the P110M join Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home or Samsung SmartThings; Matter control may need that ecosystem’s controller, such as a compatible speaker. Tapo’s app tracks energy use with charts and turns your electricity rate into a bill estimate. It can also cut power when a device passes a limit you set, which is handy for a phone or tool battery you don’t want left on the charger.
Best for: Measuring four devices at once in an Apple, Google or mixed smart home.
Skip if: You only use Alexa or Google; the P115 does the same tracking for less.
Tapo P115, 4-pack
The P115 does the same energy tracking and bill estimate as the P110M at the lowest price per plug in the table. It shuts a device off when it draws too much, and it works with Alexa and Google Assistant. It has no Matter support, so Apple Home users should spend the difference on the P110M.
Best for: Alexa or Google homes that want the lowest cost per plug.
Skip if: You use Apple Home.
Kasa KP125M, 2-pack
Kasa backs the KP125M with a 2-year limited warranty, the longest stated on any listing here, and a UL-certified flame-retardant housing. Kasa’s listing says it tracks energy use over time, and it’s Matter-certified; Kasa notes that Matter devices keep working on your local network when the internet is down.
Best for: A buyer who wants the warranty in writing and only needs two plugs.
Skip if: You’re outfitting a whole house; the Tapo P110M, also Matter, costs about 60 percent as much per plug, and the P115 under half.
Emporia Smart Plug, 4-pack
If an Emporia Vue already watches your panel, these plugs report into the same Emporia app, so circuit and plug readings sit side by side. They track per-device costs and run on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only. We’d keep them to lamps, electronics and small appliances, given the 10A continuous rating.
Best for: Emporia Vue owners who want plug-level detail in one app.
Skip if: You’ll plug in anything that draws more than 10A for long; pick a 15A Tapo or Kasa.
Plugs or a Panel Monitor?
For the whole house, including hardwired loads such as the water heater and AC, you need a panel monitor; our Emporia Vue 3 vs. Refoss EM16P comparison covers the two panel monitors we recommend.
How We Picked
We compared load rating, Matter support, cost tracking, warranty and price per plug. Specs come from each listing on Amazon and from the makers’ product pages; prices were read on Amazon on October 25, 2026. We have not tested these plugs hands-on. Our editorial policy explains how picks are made.